Connect with us


Where are the Canary Islands located?



Canary Islands

The Canary Islands are a marine archipelago, consisting of seven main islands: Greater Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, Tenerife, La Palma, Gomera, and El Hierro, in addition to a few smaller islands, most notably: Algransa, Graciosa, Mount Clara, and Roche Western, Eastern Roquet, and Lobos. The Canary Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Africa, but it belongs to the State of Spain. The Canary Islands have two official capitals, the city of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.


It is widely believed that the Canary Islands were named after the Canary Bird; However, the islands gained their name from the Latin word “Canaria”, which means dog. This is because the Europeans found dogs on the island when they first came to them, and it is believed that what they found was not dogs but rather the seal animal that the Romans called the sea dog. As for the Arabic language, the Canary Islands are called the Canaries.

Canary Islands location

The Canary Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean, opposite the northwestern coast of Africa, and the closest point to the African coast from the Canary Islands is 108 km away. Astronomically, the coordinates of the islands extend between a longitude of ′ 28 ° 6N, and latitude of 15′ 24 ° W. The Canary Islands are divided into two main groups of islands, the first is the group of western islands, which includes the islands of Tenerife, Gran Canaria, La Palma, Gomera, and Vero, this group of islands is characterized by the presence of mountain peaks rising directly from the seafloor, all of which exceed 1,200 meters altitude. The second group is the group of eastern islands and includes the islands of Lanzarote and Fuerteventura, in addition to six islands surrounding a plateau that starts from under the sea called “Canary Ridge”, and rises from the ocean floor by a distance of 1,400 meters.

Geography of Canary Islands


The Canary Islands are a marine archipelago formed as a result of volcanic eruptions that occurred millions of years ago, and thus possesses a volcanic mountainous nature. A volcanic island in the world, the highest point above sea level in the islands of the Atlantic Ocean; Where Mount Ted is 3,718 meters high, and the mountain is considered an active volcanic activity, as its last volcanic activity occurred in 1909 AD. The lowest point in the Canary Islands is the Atlantic Ocean at 0 meters.


The climate

The Canary Islands have a subtropical climate; The islands experience warm temperatures with little variation in temperatures between seasons. In August, the temperatures reach a peak and reach a maximum of approximately 26 degrees Celsius in the afternoon, for example in La Palma, while winter temperatures reach a minimum of 21 degrees in January, and the rate of rainfall is very little, and It is rare to exceed 250 mm, and most of it is concentrated in November and December in all regions of the island, except for the northeastern areas of the islands, which are considered windward, and the rate of rain precipitation is 750 mm.

History of the Canary Islands

The Canary Islands date back to ancient times, where some historians point out that the islands are the site of the legendary continent of Atlantis. The indigenous people of the Curry Islands belong to the Guanch, and they are Berber peoples who inhabited the Canary in the past. The missions of King Juba II of Mauritania to the islands in 40 B.C. caused the Romans to know about the Canary. Where the writers of Plotarchs and Pliny the Elder kept the writings of King Juba and when the Romans found the preserved writings they inferred the location of the islands, where the writer Plinyius states that the island contained large dogs.

In the year 999 AD, the Arabs started arriving in Gran Canaria and started trading through it with their countries. During the 13th and 14th centuries AD, the Portuguese and French sailors from Genoa and Mallorca visited the Canary Islands, and in 1404 AD Jean de Beethenkort was installed as king on the islands by order of King Henry III of Castile, and occupied the islands of Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, and Ferro, and in 1406 AD, King de Beethenkort returned to Europe, he inherited the rule in the Canary by his nephew Mascot, and between 1420 and 1479 AD, Portuguese forces subjected Gomera to their rule, but upon the conclusion of the Cacophas Agreement in 1479 AD, Spain’s sovereignty over the Canary was recognized, and the occupation of the rest of the islands was completed in 1496 AD, thus the islands became an important Spanish base Voyager Christopher Columbus used it to renew his fleet on his cruises to the Americas.

In 1936, the Spanish general, Francisco Franco, used the Canary Islands as a first base for the Spanish National Revolution, which subsequently reached Morocco, which was colonized by Spain. Until the Canary Islands gained their self-rule.

Join our Newsletter

* indicates required

show less

Continue Reading


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.